Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar

Sir Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar OBE, FRS (21 February 1894 – 1 January 1955) was a well-known Indian scientist, a professor ofchemistry for over 19 years. He was the first director-general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), and he is revered as the “father of research laboratories” He was also the first Chairman of the Read more about Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar[…]

Shankar Abaji Bhise

Dr. Shankar Abaji Bhise (29 April 1867 – 7 April 1935) was an Indian scientist. Bhise has to his credit 200 inventions, for about 40 of which he took patents. In 1910, Sir Ratan Tata set up the Tata-Bhise invention syndicate in order to finance Bhise’s inventions. Among his inventions were a washing compound and type-caster machines, Read more about Shankar Abaji Bhise[…]

Shivram Bhoje

Shivram Baburao Bhoje (born 9 April 1942) is a distinguished Indian nuclear scientist who worked in the field of fast-breeder nuclear reactor technology for forty years in the design, construction, operation, and research and development. Indian government has honoured him with Padma Shri in 2003, the fourth highest civilian award in India, for his distinguished Read more about Shivram Bhoje[…]

Srikumar Banerjee

Dr. Srikumar Banerjee is an Indian metallurgical engineer. He is a physical metallurgist who made contributions to the study ofphase transformations in zirconium and titanium based alloys. He retired as the Chairman Atomic Energy Commission of India (AECI) and the Secretary of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) on April 30, 2012. Prior to his stint Read more about Srikumar Banerjee[…]

Srinivasa Ramanujan

Srinivasa Ramanujan FRS ( 22 December 1887 – 26 April 1920) was an Indian mathematician and autodidact. Though he had almost no formal training in pure mathematics, he made extraordinary contributions to mathematical analysis, number theory, infinite series, and continued fractions. Ramanujan initially developed his own mathematical research in isolation; it was quickly recognized by Indian mathematicians. Read more about Srinivasa Ramanujan[…]

Siva S. Banda

Siva Subrahmanyam Banda (born 1951) is an Indian-American aerospace engineer. He is Director of the Control Science Center of Excellence and Chief Scientist for the Aerospace Systems Directorate at the United States Air Force Research Laboratory atWright-Patterson Air Force Base. He has taught at Wright State University, the University of Dayton, and the Air Force Institute Read more about Siva S. Banda[…]

Subhash Mukhopadhyay (physician)

Subhash Mukhopadhyay (Shubhash Mukhopaddhae, Subhas Mukerji) (16 January 1931 – 19 June 1981) was a physician from Kolkata, India, who created the world’s second and India’s first child using in-vitro fertilisation, Durga who was born 67 days after the first IVF baby in United Kingdom. Unfortunately, Dr. Subhash Mukhopadhyay was harassed by the state government, and not Read more about Subhash Mukhopadhyay (physician)[…]

Shreeram Shankar Abhyankar

Shreeram Shankar Abhyankar (22 July 1930 – 2 November 2012) was an Indian American mathematician known for his contributions to algebraic geometry. He, at the time of his death, held the Marshall distinguished professor of mathematics chair atPurdue University, and was also a professor of computer science and industrial engineering. He is known for Abhyankar’s conjectureof Read more about Shreeram Shankar Abhyankar[…]

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, FRS October 19, 1910 – August 21, 1995), was an Indian Americanastrophysicist who was awarded the 1983 Nobel Prize for Physics with William A. Fowler “for his theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars”. His mathematical treatment of stellar evolution yielded many of the best current Read more about Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar[…]

Sujoy K. Guha

Sujoy Kumar Guha is an Indian biomedical engineer. He was born in Patna, India, June 20, 1940. He did his undergraduate degree (B.Tech.) in electrical engineering from IIT Kharagpur, followed by a master’s degree in electrical engineering at IIT, and another Master’s degree from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He later received his Ph.D. in Read more about Sujoy K. Guha[…]