Lehmber Hussainpuri

Lehmber Hussainpuri (Punjabi: ਲਹਿੰਬਰ ਹੁਸੈਨਪੁਰੀ, pronounced [lǽmbər husɛːnpuri]; is a Bhangra singer.



From 2008 to 2010, songs such as Mera Mahi Tu Pateya, featured on Jeeti’s Serious Duets, Gulaab featured on DJ H’s Reloaded, and Dil Lagee featured on North American group Dhol Beat International’s Absolut Bhangra 4, continued to top charts.

On April 28, 2010, it was announced that MovieBox Records had acquired Serious Records.

July 2010 passed by without any further announcement by MovieBox regarding the delay or any new release date. Hussainpuri, after a long break from the limelight, gave insight into his upcoming projects in an interview. He said, “Besides my solo album, I have a devotional album also coming out this year.” He also stated that for his next solo project he was trying his hand singing qawwalis and songs which address a social cause, quite a different approach to his usual fast-beat party tunes. Lastly, he mentioned that he was heading towards Bollywood. He said, “Akshay Kumar has expressed his desire to work with me and we shall come out together with a project soon.”

Hussainpuri also featured on the soundtrack of the Hindi film Mausam (2011 film) on the song Mallo Malli with Hard Kaur.

In May 2011, after a longer than anticipated break, Hussainpuri returned to the UK in true “Lehmber-style” – by releasing a major dance-floor hit. The smash hit Matha Tekhiyawas featured on Bups Saggu’s debut album ‘Redefined’ and instantly became a hit.

On October 21, 2011, after a 5-year hiatus since his last solo effort Chalakiyan, Hussainpuri released his new album Folk Attack 2 on Serious Records. It featured production from Hussainpuri’s regular collaborators Jeeti and Kam Frantic as well as Bhinda Aujla, Sukhi Chand, and Panjabi By Nature. The first single from the album, Jatt Pagal Karte(produced by Jeeti) was released October 14, 2011 and was followed by Pulli Phirdi (produced by Kam Frantic) on November 4, 2011.

In an interview, Hussainpuri mentioned how he has done a total of 6 songs with Bollywood producer Pritam, a few songs with other Bollwood producers, and 21 total songs for Punjabi Movie Industry, in order to expand his market.

As part of BBC Asian Network’s Bhangra Britain season (April 2014) to find the greatest Bhangra anthem, Hussainpuri’s classic Das Ja was selected as Third Best UK Bhangra Song of All-Time. A panel of experts shortlisted 50 songs from the 1970s onwards, celebrating four decades of British Bhangra sounds.

After a summer 2014 chart-toper, Make It Clap with Jags Klimax, Hussainpuri released a follow-up to one of the biggest UK bhangra tracks of all time,Das Ja. Das Ja 2, released 12 years after the original was featured on DJ Sanj’s album Hype, once again had Lehmber at the helm but this time around was produced by roadshow DJ’s, DNA.


Official albums

Year Name Record Label Producers Singles Released
2005 Folk Attack Baseline Records Dr. Zeus Sachiyaan Suniyaan
Je Jatt
2006 Chalakiyan Serious Records Aman Hayer, Jeeti & Kam Frantic Chalakiyan
2011 Folk Attack 2 Serious Records Jeeti, Kam Frantic, PBN
Bhinda Aujla, & Sukhi Chand
Jatt Pagal Karte
Pulli Phirdi
2015 TBA E3UK Records Bally Gill
Bhinda Aujla
Bhangra Pauna
Aaj Kujh Wandna Pau

Compilations, religious albums, and foreign releases

Year Name Record Label
2005 Strictly Vocals Speed Records
2005 The Best of Lehmber Hussainpuri Jatt Records
2006 The Great Bhangra King VPearl Records
2006 Folk Magic VPearl Records
2006 Daaru Pee Ke VPearl Records
2006 DJ Attack Vol. 1 VPearl Records
2006 Lehmber the Remix Album Punjab2000 Records
2007 21st Century King of Bhangra ENVY Entertainment (UK)
2007 DJ Attack Vol. 2 VPearl Records
2007 The Don HOM Records
2007 Party with Lehmber Hussainpuri HOM Records
2007 Phuchal Speed Records
2007 Bhuchal Planet Records
2009 DJ Attack 3:Pehchan Punjabi De VPearl Records
2009 Chal Chaliye Maiyea De (Religious Album) T-Series
2010 First Impression (3CD) Speed Records
2010 Ho Rahi E Jee Teri Jai Jai Kaar (Religious Album) Shemaroo Entertainment
2011 Best of Lehmber Hussainpuri VIP Records (UK)
2011 Made In England (2CD) Speed Records
2013 The Best of Lehmber Hussainpuri MovieBox Records (UK)

Film soundtracks

Year Movie Music Director Song
2011 Tanu Weds Manu RDB (Rhythm Dhol Bass) Sadi Gali
2011 F.A.L.T.U. Sachin-Jiger Bhoot Aya
2011 Mausam (2011 film) Pritam Mallo Malli
2011 Yaar Annmulle Gurmeet Singh Tera Ishq Soniye
2012 Sirphire Jatinder Singh-Shah Phuchal
2012 Yaraan Naal Baharaan 2 Jaidev Kumar Yaraan Naal Baharaan
2012 Burrraahh Gurmeet Singh Ek Vaari Jeena (w/ Nachhatar Gill)
Bhangra Boliyan (w/ Pappi Gill & Master Saleem)
2012 Power Cut Gurmeet Singh Ghutt Charh Kay
2012 Yamley Jatt Yamley Jassi Katyal Speaker
2013 Saadi Love Story Jaidev Kumar Dhol Special (w/ Manak-E)
2013 Sadda Haq (film) Jatinder Shah Dabb Di Killi
2013 Punjab Bolda Prince Ghuman Ankhi Putt (w/ Sarbjit Cheema)
2013 Sikander Gurmeet Singh Hootar (w/ Labh Janjua)
2013 Aashiqui Not Allowed Gurmeet Singh Free Mind
Free Mind Remix
2013 RSVP (Ronde Saare Vyah Picho) Gurmeet Singh Aibo
2013 Heer & Hero Gurmeet Singh Heer Te Hero
2014 Fateh (2014 film) Tigerstyle Hai Shava
2014 iPhone Mann Gurmeet Singh Goli
2015 The Mastermind – Jinda Sukha Tigerstyle Jinda Sukha Anthem (w/ Ranjit Bawa)